SOUVENIR FROM EDGEWOOD PARK.

EdgewoodParkSouvenir[Book: Garth Hall – 2009 – 22x28cm – 66 Pages – Many B&W photos]. The History of Edgewood Amusement Park (Shamokin, Pennsylvania). “Edgewood Park, formerly Indian Park until 1906, located in the west end of Coal Township, was developed on 97 acres by Monroe “Farmer” Kulp and opened in the early 1900s. In its heyday this unique pleasure resort offered something for everyone. There was a picturesque lake for boating, a scenic atmosphere for picnicking and a wondrous variety of amusements to delight adults and children alike… At one time, Edgewood was the largest amusement park in Eastern Pennsylvania. The Park offered a variety of amusement park rides including the famous School of Mines, which was a side-friction roller coaster with “educational features pertaining to mining.” There was also the Scenic Railway Roller Coaster, Temple of Mirth, Fun House, Touring the Alps, Coal Steam Engine Train Ride, Bazaar, Café, Cresco Club, Skating Rink, Penny Arcade, Theatre, Restaurant, Ferris Wheel, Rebecca Springs, Promenade, and a Trolley. In July of 1926, a two million gallon swimming pool opened… and music-lovers wouldn’t dream of missing the free Sunday afternoon band concerts in the Pavilion at the park…” ANDY SHINE’S RATING: Good.